Skip to main content

Five Eyes Intelligence Oversight and Review Council (FIORC)

FIORC comprises the following intelligence oversight, review and security entities:

  • Office of the Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security (Australia)
  • Office of the Intelligence Commissioner (Canada)
  • National Security and Intelligence Review Agency (Canada)
  • Commissioner of Intelligence Warrants (New Zealand)
  • Office of the Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security (New Zealand)
  • Investigatory Powers Commissioner’s Office (United Kingdom)
  • Office of the Inspector General of the Intelligence Community (United States).

Council members exchange views on subjects of mutual interest and concern. They compare best practices in review and oversight methodology, and explore areas where cooperation is appropriate. The Council encourages transparency to the greatest extent possible to enhance public trust, and maintains contact with political offices, oversight and review committees, and non-Five-Eyes countries, as appropriate.

FIORC operates under the Charter of the Five Eyes Intelligence and Review Council.


Annual meetings